Gratitude (november 2012)

I have spent this year mindfully trying to cultivate a spirit of gratitude, and I believe I am making headway. Most mornings I walk out my front door feeling blessed; but it’s a general sort of thing.

So on this day of Giving Thanks I thought it might be a good excersize to enumerate the blessings of the passing year.

I am thankful for expensive lessons learned cheap, and for every difficulty and challenge I faced. I didn’t like them at the time, I’m still not liking them now, but they are the thing that propels you down the road to destinations unknown.

I am thankful for old friends who have hung in. God I don’t know how people have the patience to love me sometimes.

I am thankful for new friends. Some of you are already like the family I wish I had. I fully intend to grow old with a few of you.

I am grateful to the vanilla busy-body who “outed” me. No one has ever done me such a favor! I found strength I didn’t know I had, and a fully open life is such a precious gift.

I am thankful for pies in the oven, the noise and chaos of my hoarde, long distance phone calls, miraculous good health, indoor herb gardens, finding my voice, finding my vocation, losing my hair, losing my heart,  learning to enjoy solitude,  plans and promises, companionable silences (even on the phone!), uncertainty and adventure, possibilities,…

About antoniafoote

Toni is the Mama of six ferociously quirky children. She can usually be found lying in a sunbeam wasting time with a book or staring off into the distance contemplating how all of human experience is comprised of infinite spectrums. Since all of the things are inextricably intertwined, she writes to make sense of it all. View all posts by antoniafoote

Leave a Reply

